The Solar-C Science Meeting:
9:00 - 12:00, 9 - Sep (Day of celebrating Longevity), 2016

This year's Solar-C science meeting is dedicated once again to brainstorming of the Solar-C scientific objectives.

The SOLAR-C is still aiming for the second launch of the JAXA strategic-medium sized mission hopefully scheduled to be in 2025/6 or later, and the Solar-C working group (WG) has to set up the best honed Solar-C mission, namely, with the minimal total cost and with more feasible international contributions.

In order to realize the solar mission more concretely in the mid 2020s, a scientific objectives team (SOT) for the next-generation solar physics mission (NGSPM) has been endorsed by the heliophysics divisions of NASA, ESA, and JAXA. The SOT will work with JAXA, NAOJ, ESA, and NASA to: a) develop the science goals for NGSP, b) assess how these scientific goals are aligned with JAXA, ESA and NASA agency priorities, c) assess the required measurements necessary to meet the science goals, d) assess the top-level observational (mission design) strategy for the NGSP mission to accomplish the scientific goals, e) identify the minimum performance for the mission systems, and f) deliver a science report that supports the generation of documents suitable for input into any future joint Announcement of Opportunity or Call for Missions - The final report will be delivered in summer next year.

In the coming Solar-C meeting, we would like to introduce the activity of this team so far, and encourage the whole community to develop the best science goals for NGSP evolved from the current Solar-C concept.

In summary, we need to re-define the science goals intensively for a Japan-led multilateral NGSPM (advanced Solar-C?) rather in a short period of time to be in time for launch in the mid 2020s.

[Meeting Agenda]

1. Solar-C WG: Progress report: Tetsuya Watanabe (15 min)

2. Science Objectives Team of Next Generation Solar Physics Mission (NGSPM-SOT): Aims and activity report: Toshifumi Shimizu (20 min)

3. Scientific Objectives for NGSPM
I. Formation of dynamic atmosphere: Kiyoshi Ichimoto (20 min)
II. Large scale explosions & eruptions: Kanya Kusano (20 min)
III. Cyclic variation of solar magnetism: Hirohisa Hara (20 min)

4. Discussion
a. Possibility of MIDEX mission: James Klimchuk (20 min)
b. General discussion

5. AOB

Many thanks.

Tetsuya Watanabe, Chair, Solar-C WG
Hinode Science Center (NAOJ)